More and more I find myself
Becoming more and overwhelmed
By my chronic pain and health conditions
Constant back pain
From scoliosis and osteoarthritis
Both lower legs and feel swollen
From lymph-edema
Irregular and rapid heartbeat
Shortness of breath
Constant fatigue
Abdominal hernia
Realizing I’m not getting better
Hope is fading
More and more depressed
Not a clinical depression
Just the realization
That I will never again swim in the ocean
Visit Disney World or Universal Studios
Go horseback riding or cross country skiing
Go trout fishing in the Adirondack Mountains
Go deep sea fishing at Marathon on the Florida Keys
Never again will I play drums
With a classic rock band
Or run a 5K race
The realization that I may never visit Scotland
This knowledge hurts more than my pain
But I have these memories
I can close my eyes and I am there
Catching a beautiful rainbow trout
Keeping the beat with a rock bank
Gliding through fresh powder snow
Swimming with the dolphins
Riding Teaka through the fields
Recovering from abdominal hernia surgery
Exploring Eilean Donan Castle
I now visit my reality through my memories

~The Tennessee Poet~
©Walt Page 2020 All Rights Reserved

28 thoughts on “My New Reality ~ Walt Page, The Tennessee Poet

Add yours

  1. Wow! You’ve had many great adventures! So now, maybe, perhaps, your adventures are of a different type. Probably not as much fun, but still meaningful in ways you may not even realize. For example, I used to downhill ski; I don’t anymore. But, now, I write! I didn’t do that then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑