A Conversation With Myself

You can’t do this,” my inner voice said
Oh yes I can! Just watch me!

You’re not young anymore.
My body isn’t, but my mind still is.

You’re not smart enough.
Yes I am! I went to college!

So did lots of other failures.
I”m not a failure!

Your stats are proof of that.
I don’t care about my stats.

Then why do you check them?
Because they’re there.

I‘ve read your stuff. It’s awful.
It’s not awful. I have likes and followers.

See? You DO look! Caught you!
Fine. I only look to see what people like.

I thought you were writing for yourself.
I am.

Then why does it matter what they like?
It strokes my ego.

Ah ha! There it is! The truth shall prevail!
Why you you hate me?

I don’t hate you. I’m trying to help you.
By telling me that my writing is awful?

OK, I admit that it’s getting better. But don’t let it go to your head.
Why are you bringing this up now?

I’ve sensed a disturbance in the force.
Meaning?

You seem to have slowed down. You’re not writing much. It concerns me.
Life gets in the way. Grass grows. I don’t have enough time.

Then you need to find the time. Make the time. Take the time.
Easier said than done, but you’re right.

Remember why you started. And you ARE getting better.
I’m trying.

Stop making excuses then. The more you write, the better you’ll get.
You’re making my head spin. Now I have a headache.

Another excuse. Take a pill and write.
I don’t know what to write about.

Write about your headache.
Nobody will read that.

Then write about Love. Life. Music.
You know me too well.

That’s because I AM you. I am your hopes, your dreams,
your fears, your passions. I am the ALL of you, the writer in you,
the creator in you, the poet and musician in you. Now get
your butt in the chair and write!
OK, now I understand. You’re saying these things to get my
blood flowing. Because you know that I won’t let you be right.

Well it’s about time. You’re a writer, now act like one.
I don’t have time to listen to you anymore.
I’m going to write.

Copyright © 2017 Walt Page
All Rights Reserved

17 thoughts on “A Conversation With Myself

Add yours

  1. I’ve had the very same conversation with myself in recent days…. Sometimes I want to throw in the towel and say the heck with it! Lol…. And then, that little voice in my head gives me a gentle nudge, and suddenly I’m off again! I’m thinking of posting a weeks worth of writing prompts once a week. I think it would be a fun way to motivate people to write more. I often use prompts myself and they really seem to help. Perhaps I’ll work on that tomorrow… maybe even take suggestions to add to the following weeks list! Well, as always Walt, I loved this post. I know I don’t always leave a comment, but you’re one of the few blogs that I try to visit everyday. Hope your headache is gone. Oh and btw… I once wrote a poem about a headache, and people read it! So you never know what might interest someone. Lol…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comments! I haven’t done much with prompts, other than my own lists. Sometimes the words come easy, sometimes it’s like being constipated, lol. And my head is fine, even they I have a screw loose 🙂 And a comment is not necessary or expected on everything I post 🙂 💛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

